Breaking Bad

Man, I really really want to like this show, but I’m just not sure I have it in me. Everything about it, should make for good television, but at some point between production and Sunday nights on AMC, the magic is lost in the airwaves. The plot is none too different from Weeds, which is probably my favorite premium cable show of all time. That being said, Breaking Bad obviously had a lot to live up to, but it stood to offer so much more dark, dark drama.

The premise is fairly simple. Walt, played by Emmy award winner Bryan Cranston, is a high school chemistry teacher, with a special needs teenage son, a pregnant wife and lung cancer. His brother is a DEA agent, and during a ride along, he discovers a former student is dealing meth and making tons of money, and decides to bribe the kid into a partnership. Obviously, as a professional Chemist, he is able to create the Holy Grail of crystal methamphetamines. 

breaking-bad-20080118045840840

Season two began a few weeks ago, but I haven’t made my way to the new episodes, because I’m still battling my way through the Season one marathon I recorded before Season two began. I never thought I would complain about a show that really blows shit out of the water in every episode (after five seasons of committed Desperate Housewives watching, it’s nice for a plot to fucking move once in awhile), but the writers don’t even give me an opportunity to start to worry about what’s going on, before they punch me in the face with another crisis. 

I am intrigued by their uncommon formula for creating television drama. And I am quite sure that I would like to discover how they’re going to get away with a murder, a possible double murder, the disposal of the bodies (of which the kid dissolved one in the bathtub, not knowing that acid that ate human bones, would also burn through a porcelain tub) and continue to have a profitable meth business. However, I’m not sure there is anything great to look forward to in the final moments of the season.

I blame Dick Wolf for this. He has to behind this. He’s stretched the weekly Law & Order premise to an entire season. The adrenaline rush of finding the perp in the first thirty minutes captures your attention, but by the time Jack McCoy starts rambling on in the courtroom, serving justice one over dramatic monologue at a time, I just wish I’d fallen asleep. 

 

–BEAL

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

