Thank you, Nora Roberts. Thank you so very much.

2009-03-18-midnight-bayou

I finally got around to watching the second installment of the 2009 Nora Roberts collection and I must say, I am quite pleased. Big props to Nora Roberts for landing this MFTVM deal with Lifetime. It seems that simply by virtue of slapping on the name of a bestselling author, the budget for the Lifetime movie of the week more than doubled AND starred two recognizable–I’m going to go ahead and say it–celebrities as well as a cast that at no point compelled me to print a head shot and audition for the sequel.

Midnight Bayou stars Mr. Jerry O’Connell of Stand by Me/Crossing Jordan/1990’s fame as a Boston boy who has moved into a haunted, palatial, antebellum mansion in post-Katrina New Orleans and the legendary Faye Dunaway as the in touch with the spirits Grandmother of O’Connell’s love interest, played by Lauren Stamile. Now I don’t know if I’m supposed to know who this actress is, what I will say is that she’s cute, had a great haircut and her name is so much fun to say, that I will forgive her poor attempt at a Southern accent. Hmm, now that I think about it, her accent was better than the one used by Dunaway, who just spoke in her normal dialect, as if to say she was not stooping to that level. Lifetime movie of the week is as low as this bitch is willing to go. She’ll make spooky eyes and seem mysterious, but bitch ain’t about to talk like a Cajun.

As for the plot, it was a good one indeed. Hmm, how would I explain it in 100 words or less? Oh! Did you ever see Skeleton Key starring Kate Hudson? Well, it’s the exact same story, except all the really creepy parts are replaced with love scenes and motorcycle montages in which O’Connell wears a beautiful vest. Essentially it’s your basic love reincarnation story.

An award winner this won’t be–it’s no Prayers for Bobby–but it did restore my faith in the MFTV romantic drama genre, as it was light on the cheese. So I say, “Thank you, Nora Roberts. Thank you so very much. Now I will never have to read your books.”

 

–BEAL

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

