2009 Emmy Nominations!

by Beal

picture_3I’m not really a huge fan of the Awards shows–Emmy’s, Oscars, Grammy’s–mostly because the entertainment industry is the only profession (apart from insurance salesmen) who make up and hand out awards for “outstanding achievement” at a constant. Don’t get me wrong, were I to star in a television program or movie, I would expect to garner the highest reward possible, and would consider my life incomplete until I did (I’m talking to you Susan Lucci).

The Emmy’s though, I can at least stomach. I have generally seen most, if not all, nominated programs, and I am usually familiar with nominated actors, which I cannot say for the Oscars, because I typically refuse to sit through feature length films when not in the privacy of my home, where a pause button allows snacks, sodas and bathroom breaks to be welcome respites instead of plot disrupting hassles. That said, I will admit, that this year’s Emmy’s stand to be pretty entertaining. The two categories I’m most excited about are (no surprise): Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series and Outstanding Made for Television Movie.

The Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series nominees list this year reads like a who’s who list of people that should audition to be my best friend. Seriously though, I feel like these are the most relevant comedic actresses on television today. I’m usually so disappointed when this category features a Desperate Housewife or someone else whose acting or comedic value is based on the popularity of the show, rather than the ability to generate laughter through skilled acting and proper comedic timing. Usually there are two actresses I think should win it, and one that I hope wins it, this year’s free for all makes me happy, and there’s no way I could pick the winner. This years nominees are:

293_applegate_sam_who_111201toni_collette_united_states_tara10000042785_20070911163110

new-adventures-of-old-christinemarylouiseparker

sarah-silverman-cc08

Christina Applegate for Samantha Who

Toni Collette for United States of Tara

Tina Fey for 30 Rock

Julia Louis-Dreyfus for The New Adventures of Old Christine

Mary-Louise Parker for Weeds

Sarah Silverman for The Sarah Silverman Program

As for the Outstanding Made for Television Movie category the only three I care about are Coco Chanel, Prayers for Bobby and Grey Gardens (which I have plans to watch on Sunday evening). I must also say, that (none were nominated for movie, some actors that starred in them were nominated) television shows that smash two episodes together in one evening and call it a “movie” should not qualify for any of the awards earmarked for MFTMs. I’m talking to you Jack Bauer. I loved, loved, loved (read: cried my face off) Prayers for Bobby, and even though I haven’t watched it yet (I’ve seen the documentary, and can’t get enough of Little Edie) I think I’ll hope that Grey Gardens comes away a winner. I mean, how can an unknown gay compete with Drew Barrymore and Jessica Lange (who were both nominated for their roles)? He just can’t. As for Coco Chanel, I just really love Shirley McClaine is all.

Find a complete list of Emmy Nominations here.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

