Summer Binge Report: Get Your Glow On

141f21cc5a2b69d81f9835ce4bc33238ba5e070a

Playing House, Season 3 (USA): Oh man. How happy was I to discover all 8 episodes of the long-awaited third season is On-Demand right now? Pretty happy until I got to the episodes where Lennon Parham and Jessica St. Clair wrote St. Clair’s real-life cancer scare into the season; then I was happy and quietly sobbing at the same time. So good. Zach Woods, Keegan-Michael Key, Jane Kacmarek also star. You watch all three, too-short seasons of the comedy in a long weekend (ahem) and it’s a just breezy, delightful watch, ya jammers.

Master of None, Season 2 (Netflix): 6 episodes in. So far, so good. After The Leftovers, an episode of this goes down real easy, like a chilled glass of aperol spritz. Highly recommend reading Aziz Ansari’s recaps of the show on Vulture, especially for the first two Italy-centric episodes.

Glow, Season 1 (Netflix): 5 episodes in, all watched last night. It’s pretty good but I think I expected to like the show more. It feels like it’s just on the cusp of being great. Marc Maron has some presence but doesn’t have a lot of range as an actor. The music is fun but some of the jams are a little obvious. Great title sequence. The two leads (Alison Brie, Betty Gilpin) are (lady) dynamite but at 5 episodes in, I feel like there’s a lot I still don’t know and I need more character development, I think. We’ll see how the rest of the season goes and by that I mean, I should be done with the whole season tonight. This is a fast watch.

Claws (TNT): One episode down, two to catch up. On the fence but I have to admit, this is pretty charming:

Claws.jpg 

One thought on “Summer Binge Report: Get Your Glow On

Add yours

  1. I tried to watch Claws and gave up halfway through the first episode. I’ve heard a lot of hype about Glow but worry it won’t be that amazing (which is also how I felt about Wonder Woman :/ sorry).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

